Our Story

Skiing can be described in many ways. It is a unifying, fun, dynamic sport. It provides precious, magical and unique sensations. But above all, skiing is inspiring. And this inspiration led us to launch FERREOL.

We specialize in the design and manufacture of high performance alpine skis. Entirely made in Quebec, these versatile skis, designed for adventure, are particularly well adapted to Quebec and Eastern North American conditions.

Three entrepreneurs with a common passion

It was while we were studying for our bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering at Université Laval that we realized that we all shared the same concern for designing durable skis and that we all had the entrepreneurial spirit.

In the spring of 2019, we received the Éveil Eggenius scholarshipgrant, which helped launch the company by funding part of the first stages of research and development. As a result, we set up our first real innovation and prototyping lab in the back room of Ski Michel. This was a real improvement for us, since we were installed in Etienne's parents' garage. It was in December 2019, after more than a year of prototyping, that we launched our first ski model, the PIONNIER 104.

Since the company's inception, we have designed five machines that facilitate the research and development of our products. Our skis are designed and prototyped in our research and development laboratory located in Beaupré, Quebec. They are then put into production in Rimouski (Quebec).

Incorporation of ecological materials in alpine skis

From the design phase of our products, FERREOL is committed to respecting major societal and environmental guidelines. We aim for a maximum reduction of our ecological footprint. We have therefore developed a flax fiber technology, which is not only environmentally friendly, but also has important comfort properties for its user, such as cushioning. We have obtained a Mitacs Acceleration grant to continue our in-house research and development on the integration of natural fibers in alpine skis.

The company's goal over the next few years is to strongly influence other ski manufacturers to change their habits and ways of doing things so that the industry becomes healthier than it is now.

DISCOVER OUR PROJECTS RELATED TO ECORESPONSIBILITY

The entrepreneurial fiber

We want to have a positive social impact by promoting student entrepreneurship which has made a big difference in our lives. We don't want to have a business for the sake of having a business, we want to have a real impact in our community.
-
In 2019, we were selected to be part of the VIP³ incubation program, a program set up by Entrepreneuriat Laval and Eggenius to help student entrepreneurs in the Faculty of Science and Engineering develop their entrepreneurial knowledge. We also received the Eggenius Eveil grant. This grant aims to support student entrepreneurs who wish to take steps to validate the feasibility of their business idea which is in an embryonic stage.

In 2020, we received a scholarship and a "coup de coeur" award for our participation in the business plan competition organized by Entrepreneuriat Laval. We also received a bursary from the Caisse Desjardins de la Côte-de-Beaupré to allow Ferreol to pursue its innovation project, which aims to design an alpine ski with a reduced ecological footprint, using flax fiber instead of synthetic fibers.

In 2021, we were the recipient of an honorary grant from the MEI, which is intended for entrepreneurs between the ages of 18 and 35 who are conducting a project to develop a business. We also received a recognition award from the MRC de la Côte-de-Beaupré, because the company stood out in the context of the global pandemic. We also appeared on the TV showEye of the Dragon (French version of Dragon's Den) where we concluded an interesting business partnership.

OSEntreprendre 2021 Challenge

National winner of the Business Creation section. OSEntreprendre's mission is to inspire the desire to undertake and contribute to building a proud, innovative, committed and prosperous Quebec.

Forces AVENIR 2021

Forces AVENIR winner in the category Entrepreneurship, Business and Economic Life. This award aims to recognize, honor and promote the commitment of students.

Eggenius Envol 2020

Winner of the Eggenius Envol competition. The goal is to encourage the development of student businesses in the Faculty of Science and Engineering and at Laval University.

In 2022, we represented the company at the Fowler GSIC. This competition encourages student entrepreneurs from around the world to connect and create sustainable business solutions to global problems. We were also awarded the Claude-Lessard Fund grant. This fund provides financial support for the start-up of companies with high growth potential by students or recent graduates of Laval University.

A team united by the love of the mountain

Although their love for skiing is shared, their skills vary greatly while complementing each other perfectly. Felix is the entrepreneur responsible for management, Jonathan is responsible for ski design and has experience in sales and customer service, and Etienne is responsible for machine design and manufacturing and ski prototyping. The team is now composed of six ski enthusiasts.

DISCOVER THE FERREOL TEAM





Ferreol in the media

Notre histoire

On peut qualifier le ski de maintes façons. C’est un sport rassembleur, amusant, dynamique. Il fait vivre des sensations précieuses, magiques, uniques. Mais par-dessus tout, le ski est avant tout inspirant. Et cette inspiration nous a amené à lancer FERREOL.

Nous sommes spécialisés dans la conception et la fabrication de skis alpins de haute performance. Entièrement fabriqués au Québec, ces skis polyvalents, conçus pour l’aventure, sont particulièrement adaptés aux conditions québécoises et à celles de l’est de l’Amérique du Nord.

Trois entrepreneurs et une passion commune

C’est en se côtoyant au baccalauréat en génie mécanique de l’Université Laval que nous avons pris conscience que nous avions le même souci de concevoir des skis durables et que nous avions tous trois la fibre entrepreneuriale.

Au printemps 2019, nous avons reçu la bourse Éveil Eggenius, qui a contribué au lancement de l’entreprise en finançant une partie des premières étapes de recherche et développement. Nous avons donc aménagé notre premier vrai laboratoire d'innovation et de prototypage dans l'arrière-boutique de Ski Michel. C'était une réelle amélioration pour nous, puisque nous étions installés dans le garage des parents d'Etienne. C'est en décembre 2019, après plus d'un an de prototypage, que nous avons lancé notre premier modèle de ski, le Pionnier 104.

Depuis la création de l'entreprise, nous avons conçu cinq machines facilitant la recherche et le développement de nos produits. Nos skis sont conçus et prototypés dans notre laboratoire de recherche et développement situé à Beaupré (Québec). Ils sont ensuite mis en production à Rimouski (Québec).

Incorporation de matériaux écologiques dans les skis alpins

Dès la phase de conception de nos produits, FERREOL s’emploie à respecter de grandes orientations sociétales et environnementales. Nous visons une réduction maximale de notre empreinte écologique. Nous avons donc développé une technologie de fibre de lin, qui est non seulement écoresponsable, mais possède également d’importantes propriétés de confort pour son utilisateur, tel que l’amortissement. Nous avons obtenu une subvention Mitacs Accélération pour continuer la recherche et développement effectuée à l’interne concernant l’intégration des fibres naturelles dans les skis alpins.

L’objectif de l’entreprise, dans les prochaines années, est d’influencer fortement les autres fabricants de skis pour que les habitudes et les façons de faire évoluent de manière à ce que l’industrie devienne plus saine qu’elle l’est actuellement.

DÉCOUVREZ NOS PROJETS LIÉS À L'ÉCORESPONSABILITÉ

La fibre entrepreunariale

Nous tenons à avoir un impact social positif en faisant la promotion de l’entrepreneuriat étudiant qui a fait une grande différence dans notre parcours. Nous ne souhaitons pas avoir une entreprise pour avoir une entreprise, nous souhaitons avoir un réel impact dans notre communauté.
-
En 2019, nous avons été sélectionnés pour faire partie du programme d'incubation VIP³, un programme mis sur pieds par Entrepreneuriat Laval et Eggenius visant à aider les étudiants-entrepreneurs de la Faculté des Sciences et de Génie à développer leurs connaissances entrepreneuriales. Nous avons aussi reçu la bourse Eveil Eggenius. Cette bourse vise à soutenir les étudiants entrepreneurs qui souhaitent entreprendre des démarches pour valider la faisabilité de leur idée d'entreprise qui est à un stade embryonnaire.

En 2020, nous avons reçu une bourse et un prix coup de cœur lors de notre participation au concours de plan d’affaires organisé par Entrepreneuriat Laval. Nous avons aussi reçu une bourse de la Caisse Desjardins de la Côte-de-Beaupré pour permettre à Ferreol de poursuivre son projet d'innovation, qui vise à concevoir un ski alpin à empreinte écologique réduite, en utilisant la fibre de lin au lieu de fibres synthétiques.

En 2021, nous avons été récipiendaire d'une bourse d'honneur du MEI, celles-ci étant destinées à des entrepreneurs de 18 à 35 ans qui mènent un projet visant le développement d’une entreprise. Nous avons aussi reçu un prix de reconnaissance de la MRC de la Côte-de-Beaupré, car l'entreprise s'est démarquée dans le contexte de la pandémie mondiale. Nous sommes également apparus dans l'émission l'Oeil du dragon (version française de Dragon's Den) où nous avons conclu un partenariat d'affaire intéressant.

Défi OSEntreprendre 2021

Lauréat national volet Création d'entreprise. OSEntreprendre a pour mission d’inspirer le désir d’entreprendre pour contribuer à bâtir un Québec fier, innovant, engagé et prospère.

Forces AVENIR 2021

Lauréat Forces AVENIR dans la catégorie Entrepreneuriat, Affaires et Vie économique. Ce prix vise à reconnaître, honorer et promouvoir l'engagement des étudiants.

Eggenius Envol 2020

Lauréat du concours Eggenius Envol. Le but est d'encourager le développement d'entreprises étudiantes à la Faculté des sciences et de génie et à l'Université Laval.

En 2022, nous avons représenté l'entreprise au Fowler GSIC. Cette compétition incite les étudiants entrepreneurs du monde entier à se connecter et à créer des solutions commerciales durables aux problèmes mondiaux. Nous avons également obtenu la bourse du Fonds Claude-Lessard. Ce dernier offre un soutien financier pour le démarrage d’entreprises à haut potentiel de croissance par des personnes étudiantes ou récemment diplômées de l’Université Laval.

Une équipe unis par l'amour de la montagne

Bien que leur amour pour le ski soit partagé, leurs compétences varient grandement tout en se complétant parfaitement. Félix est l'entrepreneur responsable de la gestion, Jonathan est responsable de la conception des skis et a de l'expérience dans la vente et le service à la clientèle, et Etienne est chargé de la conception et de la fabrication des machines et du prototypage des skis. L'équipe est maintenant composée de six passionnés de ski.

DÉCOUVRIR L'ÉQUIPE FERREOL





Ferreol dans les médias